comment 0

14th New York save the day!

Inspiration just wasn’t enough. These Forgotten and Glorious miniatures really are the finest sculpts. A fellow Facebooker mentioned that the company was on the verge of closing. That would be a great shame because the miniatures are a delight. I could only see plans for a Kickstarter to include even more gems so if anyone out there knows anything?


Now, two points need to be made. My regular reader will know that I’ve been attempting to “rationalise” my collection over the last few months. The miniatures above are at least thirty years old. I can remember planning a Franco Prussian army but this solitary stand was as far as I got, I’m sure you know the story. One thing I noticed as yet another box went off to eBay was the quality of my painting all those years ago. I don’t know when I last tried to paint eyes on a 28mm mini but the bright colours still attract me.

Secondly, although I’ve been selling a lot, I’m still a collector and the target was six miniatures a week? Well, that was a little easier as I’d already started the 14th New York.


Die Fuhrer’s mother came round and this week’s target was almost met….


Neighbours came around Saturday and took the wife’s kids out to throw stones at the trains…..


Target met times four! It only needed for me to get up early this Sunday before church to get the Flags of War banners attached. That leaves four days to finish my Early Byzantine army ready for Devizes😗😜


Bit of a painting backlog but bear with me please dear reader.

Thanks for reading and remember your six a week!

Filed under: Wargaming

About the Author

Posted by

The wild ramblings of an infamous wit and wargames guru. One of nature's true gentlemen who devotes his time to the care of his two sons, i.e. watching episodes of Peppa Pig together, and recreating great moments of military history using toy soldiers. Currently a leading light in The Collectivo Despertaferres wargames and duelling association who meet regularly at Firestorm Games ( formerly Ali Baba's Carpet Warehouse). Find me also on Facebook "Despertaferres"!

Leave a Reply

