comments 5

Swiss Tease

Big Don ‘the Don’ McHugh has just posted the  runners and riders for next weekend. B.I.G  on Bath Road Bristol always gives us a warm welcome and I’m anticipating four tough games. I usually go for all-arms competition armies but this time I’m going one-dimensional, wall to wall pikes…….
Mark Mainwaring – HYW English

Mike Baldwin – Swiss

Richard Walker – HYW French

Mark Fry – Wars of Roses

Dino Monticoli – HYW French

Mark Clarke – Siam

Colin Cavanagh – Burgundian Ordnance

Steve Hacker – Condottieri Italian

Andrew Unwin – Burgundian Ordnance

Keith Mcglynn – Order of St John

Chris Jackson – Free Company

Don McHugh – Medieval Scots

Now before my regulars start questioning whether I have resumed spending, the answer is an emphatic no. Well, I did spend thirteen pounds on two Steel Fist minis as a general’s unit- expensive but amazing casts. Chris J is back on the scene and he is lending me the army.

In Tuesday’s game, my Lorrainer sub-commander, Jon ” the lady killer’ Gallacher affected a turning manouvre with his allied horse. You can see his evil gaze below…

The eagle prepares to pounce!

Uncharacteristically perhaps, Chris’ Free Company army turned away from my pikes and headed back to their now looted baggage. These mercenaries really do like to look after their ill-gotten gains.

So, first time out and it’s a draw for the Swiss. That’s probably the best result I’ve ever had in a test game. Not that I’m a great believer in test games. My final list has two large corps of pike and halberd , with the third corps of just pike. I’m hoping for a waterway or at least some terrain to close my flanks down. My biggest concern is that I resist the temptation to advance out of a good position. I’m not a defensively minded player but the steamroller is vulnerable to flank attacks.


So, here’s to next weekend and a chance to try out something a bit different.

Filed under: Wargaming

About the Author

Posted by

The wild ramblings of an infamous wit and wargames guru. One of nature's true gentlemen who devotes his time to the care of his two sons, i.e. watching episodes of Peppa Pig together, and recreating great moments of military history using toy soldiers. Currently a leading light in The Collectivo Despertaferres wargames and duelling association who meet regularly at Firestorm Games ( formerly Ali Baba's Carpet Warehouse). Find me also on Facebook "Despertaferres"!

5 Comments

  1. Louen

    Being Swiss myself, although living in the US, I’m excited to read more about your army’s victories… (or demise, given it’s general’s track record) 😉

    I hope they’ll perform well for you, but I’m afraid that an all pike army may not be as versatile and useful as the big Swiss Army Knife pictured above.

    Haarus!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ll do my best but I ‘m afraid I can’t blame the army this time.
      Switzerland is my most favourite destination- spent five Summers in the Alps. Currently planning to follow General Suvorov’s death march to celebrate my fiftieth😉

      Like

      • Louen

        Ah, yes, I remember your report from your last vacation there. Looking forward to read the next one 🙂

        Like

  2. Martin Schwartz (aka Mark Fry)

    I like a bit of Swiss Cheese myself Mike … I look forward to us potentially meeting across the green tables @ BIG.

    My own fair force is a dastardly mix of disaffected but manly English Yorkist rebels, heroic & hopeful Irish and a wrowdy wrabble of mercenary Germans & Lowlanders all intent on placing a 10 year old boy (with a cake named after him) on the English throne.

    Be prepared for longbow arrows, handgun pellets, artillery shot, bad dice-throwing and bad language!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

