comments 4

Roll call 2017 – From despair to where?

Game two was the Mongols, of a sort, once again but thankfully there was a less mobile infantry corps albeit armed with nasty looking two handed cutting weapons. Also, not all the Yuan Chinese horse had missiles. There was hope.


Stephane in round one had used his cavalry to sweep around and hit my medium infantry. This time I decided to be more cautious and nurse my missile troops more carefully. The terrain was still too open for comfort but this time I did have a plantation to anchor my flank.


My plan was to send my knights again down the flank and wheel around the plantation. The Chinese cavalry once again went for the week refused Free Company flank but light infantry with javelin are surprisingly tough. The light horse went into the plantation and started losing units. To the left of the plantation my mercenary crossbowmen were busy unhorsing the Yuan heavy horse too.


The advancing Chinese charged home and used tribal javelinmen to flank my line through the edge of the trees. My javelin armed skirmishers could take horsemen on in the terrain but would not fare too well against the auxiliaries.


However, on the other side of the field my knights were masters of the situation. The accompanying longbowmen disrupted the Chinese heavy horse then the charge of their Knights made short work of the corps. Two Chinese generals hit the floor and the battle turned. An expensive victory but a victory nevertheless.


The sun was shinning, pastime and chips was being served in the main hall and all was good in the world. I tried to retain my usual composure and not let the victory go to my head. The last thing I wanted was for people to realise that I don’t win very often.I moonwalked out of the gym and hugged a stranger. I think I got away with it.

Filed under: Wargaming

About the Author

Posted by

The wild ramblings of an infamous wit and wargames guru. One of nature's true gentlemen who devotes his time to the care of his two sons, i.e. watching episodes of Peppa Pig together, and recreating great moments of military history using toy soldiers. Currently a leading light in The Collectivo Despertaferres wargames and duelling association who meet regularly at Firestorm Games ( formerly Ali Baba's Carpet Warehouse). Find me also on Facebook "Despertaferres"!

4 Comments

  1. Mark

    Those are huge assets (in the bath) Mike … congratulations … so there were more cheeky chinese fellows. I thought this event was restricted to a HYW Iberian theme? Or was I mistucan???

    Anyway well done mate – terrain is the best answer to those shooty-skooty horse-archery type armies.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

