comments 4

Alton 1643- Pike and Shotte Last Stand

To begin at the beginning, as a wargamer I much prefer fighting ‘historical’ opponents. But, what if instead of the usual last stand/untenable situation that James C gives me, what if I’m dealt the winning hand? I was commanding Waller’s historically victorious Parliamentarians. I had more horse, more infantry and a winning hand……..The Parliamentary juggernaut is at the bottom of the photo. My horse blocked the road to Wincester so that the winter garrison of Alton could not recall their cavalry from winter quarters in Wincester. Good quality infantry in abundance and then it started…..


The leather guns that made such a notable feature of the actual battle, were to be absent. Keen readers will remember that my artillery was also absent from our last encounter. As I advanced my right wing infantry, I was informed that the division was in search of a ford and would be leaving the table…..

Evil Man ( above)

There was nothing for it but to launch the remaining infantry at the defences….

The brave Parliamentary horse charge!


Despite the Royalist horse being veterans and supported by fire locks and dragoons, we made some progress. The supporting Parliamentary horse ran over the first two Royalist squadrons but more were coming down the lane.


My foot were on the first line of entrenchments. The fire was intense and command and control lacking – just two blunders added to my discomfort.


Two entrenched pieces of artillery made the revetments unassailable. In the actual battle, brave Colonel Richardus Boles was manfully defending the font of the Church of St. Lawrence by now. As my family thankfully arrived at this point, it was time to call off the assault (despite the added incentive James had thoughtfully provided- on a church indeed!)

My thanks to James and Dash for an excellent game. Dash suggested that the key to the position lay in attacking the Royalist right… I left , unable to see through a film of tears. Next time, next time…….. James is a keen reenactor and is hard to miss( but it is worth making the effort!) 

Filed under: Wargaming

About the Author

Posted by

The wild ramblings of an infamous wit and wargames guru. One of nature's true gentlemen who devotes his time to the care of his two sons, i.e. watching episodes of Peppa Pig together, and recreating great moments of military history using toy soldiers. Currently a leading light in The Collectivo Despertaferres wargames and duelling association who meet regularly at Firestorm Games ( formerly Ali Baba's Carpet Warehouse). Find me also on Facebook "Despertaferres"!

4 Comments

  1. Mark

    Wonderful … great to see some fortifications in a 28mm game.Next time mate, next time.

    PS: have you forgiven me yet for the ‘steer’ I gave you regarding the use of a Free Company army in that LadG competition? 😦
    I played Mr Unwin’s very own Free Company last week and it was but a mere speed-bump to my triumphant Hungarian Knights. He claimed that Sir John (Hawkwood) was off wenching at the time of the battle. A poor excuse for shoddy dicemanship IMHO.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Don’t start me on that cad Unwin! Surfice to say that your Hungarian list was the subject of many hushed conversations! I think the Free Company may be happier burning towns people for the Pope!

    Like

  3. Mark

    An honorable occupation if ever there was one (burning towns folk) I’ll have you know … any particular town in mind? Gloucester springs readily into my thoughts or maybe better still Slough or Luton.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

