comments 8

With Fire and Sword, and a broken internet connection!


Ten days without the i-pad can seem like an age! Without causing offence to my regular reader, it does highlight how the tinternet eats up valuable hobby time. Without Facebook and inter web”research” , I am quite pleased to say that I have finished Simon Shama’s trilogy of the history of Britain. I have been trying to finish the three volumes for months and there is nothing worse than dipping into and out of such books. The only book I ever threw out without finishing was Seven Pillars of Wisdom. Whereas others had seen the deep meaning and sensuality of Lawrence’s writing, I consigned the volume into a carrier bag of cheese strings and Pringles on a coach journey to Berlin. I read a page about a camel with the mange at least four times and that was it……sorry El Lawrence!

When will it end?

The biggest discovery post the ipad- less days has been , of all things, Polish films on YouTube! ( not those sort of films by the way!) I’m referring of course to the classic “Fire and Sword” films, called simply “the Trilogy’ in Polish. They are absolutely brilliant…..you will no doubt remember my love of the 1970s “The Flashing Blade” Tv, well this is even better. Mix in 1660s Poland with scheming Tartars and ferocious Cossacks. Add devious nobles, Ottomans and a witch ( with a dwarf sidekick) and you still haven’t got these films categorised. I’m off to see which figures I can utilise for this period. The battle scenes are amazing, it was after all the most expensive Polish film ever made (ever!)

ย So, the despertaferres advice is simple. Just now and then, cut your browsing and keep your mind open. Whether I keep reading, time will tell but it has been refreshing! Just three and a half hours of Polish genius left to watch!

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

The wild ramblings of an infamous wit and wargames guru. One of nature's true gentlemen who devotes his time to the care of his two sons, i.e. watching episodes of Peppa Pig together, and recreating great moments of military history using toy soldiers. Currently a leading light in The Collectivo Despertaferres wargames and duelling association who meet regularly at Firestorm Games ( formerly Ali Baba's Carpet Warehouse). Find me also on Facebook "Despertaferres"!

8 Comments

  1. Louen

    Oh, I see. Well, I’ve been left in charge of the fort and the wild things living in it (our kids) last night. Once I had them all assigned to their sleeping quarters I’ve found an old gem to watch. Charlton Heston’s Khartoum. Unfortunately, that movie, combined with my already strong urge to plunge into the Victorian Colonial Era, was enough to make me order my first set of Anglo-Sudanes-War miniatures and the Victorian Steel rule set, which will also work great for Zulu-Wars.
    That would teach my wife to leave me alone at home with internet access and a credit card…
    Except, that I’ll do my best to keep this new acquisition sectret from her, like most of us would do ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s proper baby sitting! It won’t be long before they can sit down with you while watching “Young Winston’ . Credit cards for the wargamer are deserving of a post all of their own!๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

      • Louen

        Thanks, I shall try watch that tonight.

        Well the second-worst part of our hobby is looking at the credit card statements at the end of the month and trying to explain them to your wife…
        The worst being thebwait between ordering and the arrival of the new toys ๐Ÿ˜

        Like

  2. That’s easily solved, credit card on line and a drop box the other side of town. Do you think this is too much? Do you think our families will understand the lengths we have gone to in order to secure their inheritance ( toy soldier armies!)

    Like

    • Louen

      I’ve watched Young Winston today. Not bad, I was surprised that I remembered some parts of it that I’ve seen as a child.
      One thing struck me as odd though: his father was all upset that Winston only made it into the cavalry, and not the infantry. Why is that bad? I’ve always thought that the cavalry are seen as the elite and were for the more able men than the mere infantry. Is that something special about the British?

      Like

  3. Hmmmm not quite sure. I seem to remember that it was his mother who had to pull strings to get him a commission and the family funds were stretched. It was the Guards infantry that were the top billet for the socially well connected.
    There’s the Four Feathers to inspire you as well of course!

    Like

Leave a Reply

