comments 2

Defence Cuts Blues

image

There are so many amazing models now available, a decision has to be made. Do you just pile up the lead, hoping for the time to come when you can clear the backlog, or is there another way? My answer is to follow the modern trend for larger bases where the number of miniatures is largely irrelevant. The rationale is that you can actually collect complete armies that can contain all the figures that have caught your imagination, without breaking the bank….

image image image image

Regular readers of the blog will recognise the above figures that must surely win the award for most-based wargames figures in history! When I based them for Impetvs I didn’t even play a game with them! My point concerns the size of the figures on L’Art de la Guerre 60mm by 60mm bases. It would take some doing to squeeze three heroic scale horsemen on to a cavalry base, so I didn’t bother. Light horse should be two figures but I like the more sparse look of a single miniature. And it saves money! And the army is finished quicker, hence the six week challenge that begins this weekend…..

image image

I bought the cavalry models for my Late Romans at Newbury. One hundred pounds worth smuggled back into the house in my coat pockets! They are smaller than my Artizan Berbers so these will be three to a base for cavalry and cataphracts, with two models on light horse bases.

image

An angel to inspire the Christian host. This plus Alan light horse , from Aventine miniatures, came into the house as “birthday surprises” from…..er….me😳

Amazing transfers from Littlebigman designs, 10/10 ferres rating.

Amazing transfers from Littlebigman designs, 10/10 ferres rating.

A real find from www.wargamesdesigns.com and this gentleman is planning more late roman designs in the near future!

A real find from http://www.wargamesdesigns.com and this gentleman is planning more late roman designs in the near future!

So, I’m aiming to get the complete army together in six weeks. Can it be done? We will see. The next test maybe smuggling home the infantry component!

The opposition has already stolen a march on me! Huns from Rob James' shooty Hunny Horde. I do hope the draw is kind to him!😗

The opposition has already stolen a march on me! Huns from Rob James’ shooty Hunny Horde. I do hope the draw is kind to him!😗

2 Comments

  1. James C

    I cannot decide to whether to rebase my Romano Brits or paint up the Newline Myceneans…so I’ve decided to do both! I must be mad! Just prepped 54 Mycenean spearmen….going to need a lot of flesh coloured paint for these guys!

    Like

Leave a Reply

