comments 3

Ah there is one thing about them more wonderful than their numbers … in all that vast number there is not one man called Gisgo.

imageThe Carthaginian officer Gisco may well have been equally impressed by the numbers of Romans that appeared this Thursday at Firestorm Carpet Warehouse. Steve had offered to bring down his Punic wars 10mm collection and  we were all in awe. In all my years, I’d never played a 10mm scale game and had even given away an army I had bought, muttering darkly about yet another scale to complicate things. How wrong could I have been…..

image

Steve had done a terrific job on painting the micro warriors. They are based for Warmaster but the same bases are just right for L’Art de la Guerre. We used two bases of skirmishers as a ‘unit’ just because we had the figures and thought they looked good as clouds of psiloi.

image

Three hundred points in LAG gives you a massive army in ten millimetre scale. I deployed the conventional Roman legions in the centre, with unassimilated ‘Italian’ javelins on my right. I reasoned that my mixed “extranordarriI’ command of heavy cavalry and vanguard infantry could sweep through Steve’s right.

image However, it was the centre that would be the key to the battle. I had yet to face elephants and thankfully, without ever reading the rules James and Chris were at hand to talk us through the combat!!!!

The ever helpful 'voices off', smarter than in real life.

The ever helpful ‘voices off’, smarter than in real life.

On my right, the battle began with Steve’s Numidians sweeping forward and attacking my more lightly armed allies. I was able to rally most of my infantry losses as the command was almost stationary. My own mercenary light horse did a fine job rolling up the flank of their countrymen.

image

My Roman firework display formation drew some adverse comments. LAG is very slick in handling movement. I brought out my veteran spearmen to face the elephants and extend my line. A see-saw battle commenced with heavy losses on both sides.

image

Like some Roman circus crowd, the audience hated me for killing the cute elephants! They have a sting in their elephant tail though as they run amok in LAG, with the potential to crash through their assailants. Thankfully they rampaged backwards in their death throes.

image

Steve’s centre may have been under pressure but disaster loomed on my left. The Carthaginian spear had an advantage of numbers and a wider frontage allowed him to roll up the Roman swordsmen. The accompanying Roman horse , facing equal numbers of enemy, also disappeared. It had been a hard fought game but Steve still had a large reserve of good quality spear. Time had run out and victory was with the sons of Hannibal.

The period was a favourite with me many years ago. I had fond memories of taking Republican Romans to the first ever DBM competitions in Berkeley and yes they had been smashed then too! Somethings never change…..

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

The wild ramblings of an infamous wit and wargames guru. One of nature's true gentlemen who devotes his time to the care of his two sons, i.e. watching episodes of Peppa Pig together, and recreating great moments of military history using toy soldiers. Currently a leading light in The Collectivo Despertaferres wargames and duelling association who meet regularly at Firestorm Games ( formerly Ali Baba's Carpet Warehouse). Find me also on Facebook "Despertaferres"!

3 Comments

  1. The scale of the numbers with 10mm looks impressive; not sure my failing short range eye sight could stand it though! Busy painting 28mm Huns (with large magnifier) ready for December’s fun and games! Let’s see the pictures of Saturday’s booty from Colours!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Photos! That loot was out of the car and squirrelled away within two minutes! I’ll post the photos of those “old” figures I had lying around along with the army list for you to peruse! Did you see that Aventine Hun baggage?? I also ” found” a guide to how El Mercenario paints and the Digby Smith book on the Roman army. I explained all those foundry plastic cartons in the recycling were your Christmas present! Westwind do some great Arthurian heads that I have decapitated my foundry minis for. It looks like an ISIS invasion on my painting table!
    Can’t wait to see your painting. Richard from Cardiff is doing Huns too so we could do Chalons here in Cardiff too in the future?

    Like

    • Wouldn’t hold your breath on the painting front; it will be my usual rushed style! The aventine baggage train looks good, I wasn’t sure how best to represent the camp. I do like Foundry’s “Hun with captive woman” figure; perhaps a combination of the two??
      I hope that Richard know’s what he is doing with the Huns, perhaps I can learn something! First round could certainly shape up as Civilisation versus Hairies!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

