comments 2

And now for something completely different……

imageThe month of July has been great! I can actually see the floor of my hobby room/ daughter’s bedroom, and a number of projects look like they will be shortly coming to fruition. Firstly, the Medieval campaign is ready to start before the end of this month. The armies are now ready to go and I will shortly distribute the campaign maps. I picked up a number of new flags from a supplier called “The Square” at Devizes and these have cheered up my old Spanish collection. After six years I have also finished basing them? A record even for yours truly!

The proud Knights of Aragon

The proud Knights of Aragon

Brave Peter of Aragon- one of my favourite bases.

Brave Peter of Aragon- one of my favourite bases.

image image

Above, Portuguese and Castllian Knights, ready to fight the Moor and each other!

If you can't fight, carry a big flag?

If you can’t fight, carry a big flag?

The initial part of the campaign is set in Iberia but that doesn’t mean all the forces are Spanish. Three Christmases ago I helped out Damian of Donnington miniatures and, never one to forget a debt, I was presented with these at Devizes for services rendered. They are superb miniatures and a joy to paint. Also many years ago, the original inspiration for my medievals were those fantastic coloured woodcuts of the time. The plan was to keep to those colours; bright green, red, blue and yellow, with black armour.

I was a boy in Swansea model shop when I first saw these pictures and loved them instantly- full of drama and colour

I was a boy in Swansea model shop when I first saw these pictures and loved them instantly- full of drama and colour

My attempt at Free Company troops is below. Damian will be commanding so look out wallets!

If you have the cash, why not hire Hawkwood's archers?

If you have the cash, why not hire Hawkwood’s archers?

If longbows weren't  enough to deter Knights, why not use stakes?

If longbows weren’t enough to deter Knights, why not use stakes?

During July I have been desperately trying to finish projects off. My attempt to put together plastic WW2 infantry was a disaster! The finished miniatures looked like relatives of Quasi Modo! All I could salvage was a forward air controller and a jeep. I even managed to mess up the construction of the jeep and had to mask the absence of a steering wheel with a strategically placed map.

image image image

The most interesting read of the Summer has been the Madaxeman’s blog. There is a terrific article on getting Ancients and Medieval wargaming back “on track”, for those who like myself drifted away over the last few years. Tim shares my own preference for L’art de la Guerre and we are in the process of setting up a competition here in Cardiff. More news to follow. My first Macedonian army has begun.

Richard BScott kindly gave me these years ago and they are finally painted!

Richard BScott kindly gave me these years ago and they are finally painted!

Wargames competition always need a new army of course! If only I had.....

Wargames competitions always need a new army of course! If only I had…..

All in all, we seem to be entering a golden period. Thanks for reading and don’t forget to check back for news! Thornbury LADG competition on Sunday and I haven’t rebased the army yet!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

