comment 0

Poker face?

With apologies to the incomparable Lady GaGa...

With apologies to the incomparable Lady GaGa…

it’s 200 years since the defeat of the Corsican Ogre at Waterloo. The lunatic membership of Cardiff Wargames Club and Rehab Clinic decided to celebrate the victory in fine style. Last year we all promised to start painting for the great day, and twelve months later we stood around with Phil the Spaniard’s one Russian regiment……Ol Windy himself, Ken was to take the role of Wellington whilst I would be the dour Blucher “racing” to the rescue. Command and Colours it was then…….

Rather than give you an intricate rendition of this wonderful reenactment with card and wooden blocks, I thought I ‘d set the account to music. If you have anyone under the age of thirty nearby please get them to hum along while you try and guess what is happening in the photos….

Oh, oh, oh,oh,oh-e-oh-e-oh I'll get him hot, show him what I've got.....

Oh, oh, oh,oh,oh-e-oh-e-oh
I’ll get him hot, show him what I’ve got…..

Can't read my Can't read my No he can't read my poker face....

Can’t read my
Can’t read my
No he can’t read my poker face….

P-P-P, Poker face Muh, muh,muh,muh...

P-P-P, Poker face
Muh, muh,muh,muh…

Cos I'm bluffing into my muffin...

Cos I’m bluffing into my muffin…

Sorry Luv!

Sorry Luv!

Well you might have expected it. Ian la Dice and Rodrigo Napoleon destroyed the forces of law and order in double quick time. I hope my younger reader enjoyed this week’s episode and just remember, when you are sprawled out on the Xbox lying in your own filth, that my generation was climbing trees, looking for frogspawn when we were your age!

Stay tuned for this weekend’s posts…..It’s the Welsh Open at Cardiff’s Firestorm Carpet Warehouse!!!!!

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

The wild ramblings of an infamous wit and wargames guru. One of nature's true gentlemen who devotes his time to the care of his two sons, i.e. watching episodes of Peppa Pig together, and recreating great moments of military history using toy soldiers. Currently a leading light in The Collectivo Despertaferres wargames and duelling association who meet regularly at Firestorm Games ( formerly Ali Baba's Carpet Warehouse). Find me also on Facebook "Despertaferres"!

Leave a Reply

