comments 5

Colouring the Troops 2015

image

It’s six months since I started this blog. Hysterically it’s working. With your support and over a thousand other viewers, I am pleased to relate that I can now see the floor in my hobby room! This weekend it’s time for one last push to get organised.

This Thursday something terrible happened...

This Thursday something terrible happened…

It wasn't that JamesC had planned one of his legendary scenarios...

It wasn’t that JamesC had planned one of his legendary scenarios…

It wasn't that James' troops were better painted than mine....

It wasn’t that James’ troops were better painted than mine….

It wasn't even that we had forgotten how to play Bolt Action and two newbies were watching us...

It wasn’t even that we had forgotten how to play Bolt Action and two newbies were watching us…

Oh the shame.....

Oh the shame…..

Please don’t tell anyone but I’m told it sometimes happens even to wargamers in their prime. I have to admit, I didn’t have enough miniatures! There I’ve written it! I’m not proud of it but to stand any chance against James’ Japanese Island clingers, I had to upgrade every single unit to veteran and shamefully proxy half tracks and a Sherman for Stuarts. Note, James wouldn’t let me have Shermans due to unending search for historical accuracy! We were so bad with the rules, it was laughable. On a beach of blood, the U.S. Marines managed to finally take the nearest bunker. Airstrikes took out another Jap bunker, and an American tank, for a drawn game. I need more 28mm riflemen!

June/July target...

June/July target…

But, I also need a Flames of War army finished within two weeks for the Welsh Open, two Tercios of ECW foot, the 14th New York and Spanish Napoleonic Hussars. Then inspiration flashed before me, our monthly Cardiff Wargames a Club monthly painting challenge.

Scruffy, undisciplined and painted in two weeks. Spanish militia, not JamesC!

Scruffy, undisciplined and painted in two weeks. Spanish militia, not JamesC!

image

I refer the reader to the superb work of the South African gamer, Chevalierdelaterre. He creates amazing work with the use of some quite surprising colours, used in the familiar three layered painting techniques. Often he uses US Olive drab as the base coat. I must get round to posting some photos of his WW2 vehicles now in my collection.I had my inspiration and now to work….

image“This is my aerosol, there are many like it but this one is mine,

My aerosol can is my best friend…..”

With apologies to the USMC!

Lovers of the beautiful brushwork of Mr. Mike Lane are in for a treat next week as I shall be posting photos from our Indian Mutiny game. Look out for “Flashman leaves a stain” in the “pages” section of the site.

British pluck takes on the savage Mutineers in next week's blog pages.

British pluck takes on the savage Mutineers in next week’s blog pages.

Filed under: Uncategorized

About the Author

Posted by

The wild ramblings of an infamous wit and wargames guru. One of nature's true gentlemen who devotes his time to the care of his two sons, i.e. watching episodes of Peppa Pig together, and recreating great moments of military history using toy soldiers. Currently a leading light in The Collectivo Despertaferres wargames and duelling association who meet regularly at Firestorm Games ( formerly Ali Baba's Carpet Warehouse). Find me also on Facebook "Despertaferres"!

5 Comments

    • I see you as a Welsh Father Christmas! Notice the compliments on your painting? I’ve never seen bucked teeth on a 28mm mini before!

      Like

    • You are so modest JamesC. Although I did notice you telling the new guys that you wrote Black Powder and taught Steven Hawkin how to skateboard!

      Like

Leave a Reply

