comments 2

Mayday, May-day………

imageSometimes only your best friends can tell you the truth! As I was walking around Salute last Saturday, RobJ manhandled me away from a vendor with the sensitive words, Mike you really aren’t going to live long enough to paint them all! Well, I didn’t fall for the tempting Indian Mutiny figures but his line of thought did get me thinking. Since last Christmas I had promised myself that I would be getting organised and four months later, it’s time to take stock again. You can see below just how much my painting table has improved…….

Organised chaos! It keeps the window cleaner amused though!

Organised chaos! It keeps the window cleaner amused though!

Situation at teatime Day one- Discovery Channel hoarders special beckons!

Situation at teatime Day one- Discovery Channel hoarders special beckons!

If 2015 was to be the year of organisation then progress had to be speeded up. It was a Bank holiday weekend and I was going to make progress. The Cardiff club programme gave me some breathing space and it was time to get my Man-cave ship-shape.

I wish my daughter would keep her room tidy!

I wish my daughter would keep her room tidy!

By Monday I was going to finish my 28mm basing and get two more units of Spanish Napoleonics finished. Instead, I did what any normal wargamer would do…..embark on a completely different set of projects……

Plan a Fourteenth Century campaign in Iberia

Plan a Fourteenth Century campaign in Iberia

That meant writing out a shopping list for my 15mm L’Art de la Guerre armies;  French, English, Free company, Portuguese, Granadine and of course,…….Scottish (you never can be too sure, when or where a campaign will lead!)

Then a trip to the Garden Centre to liberate some artificial grass! Desert boots are size ten for scale.

Then a trip to the Garden Centre to liberate some artificial grass! Desert boots are size ten for scale.

Uncle Ken had got me started on The French and Indian Wars so off went an order to Galloping Major. Then my Mother in law came around with her Nicola Sturgeon DVDs so it was time to change the flags on my Scottish Knights to make them Gascons…

image imageYou will notice the mandatory wargamers’ tufts? As I had started adding these to the above, I ended up adding them to all my Italians Wars figures as well! Now I was well and truly lost……

After the Italian Wars, it's North Vietnamese Anti-aircraft artillery of course!

After the Italian Wars, it’s North Vietnamese Anti-aircraft artillery of course!

So there you have it! That old fraud Karl Marx would be turning in his tomb, if he isn’t chasing maids and investing in sweatshops in the Workers’ paradise. Not one step closer to being organised but some little progress made in a number of areas. Just two battalions of Spaniards, one battalion of Poles, one of ACW zouaves and fifteen Indians to do before preparations for the next Flames of War competition……….

My name is Michael and I’m an addict!

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

