comment 0

Keep calm and continue collecting…..

My god it’s over! You know it’s officially the end of Christmas in my house, when the last Lego kit is finally complete. It took three days last Christmas to complete my son’s Ewok village and then I dropped the bloody thing at half past one in the morning. How we all laughed………………………..

My present haul included minis for the French SS, Late Romans and the X-wing miniatures game. I have been told that we will playing the last one at our New Year family get-together with my wife’s brother and assorted infant siblings. I’m not quite sure when the right time will be to fight in the ruins of Berlin with diehard Nazis!

On that note, I thought I’d better get started posting on my blog just exactly what I had intended i.e. my plans and ideas for wargames armies, what I have in my collection already and the “characters” and “personalities” that frequent this subterranean hobby of ours. The next post will contain my English Civil War plotting but before that, a few thank yous. Firstly, my gratitude to Mr. Henry Hyde, of Miniature Wargames magazine, for tipping me headlong into the world of blogging. My apologies for my terrible I.C.T. Skills in advance. I was always digging in Rural Science classes when the “top sets” cut out holes in cardboard to plug in data to the new fangled computers. I told those losers then that they were wasting their time!

I must of course also credit the brush skills of those figure painters that I have collected over the years. I will of course endeavour to credit those who I know but thirty years of collecting does sometimes blur the memory. Or is it that I cannot bear to remember what I have paid out over those decades?

Christmas with the die-hard Nazis!

Christmas with the die-hard Nazis!

Filed under: Miniature wargames

About the Author

Posted by

The wild ramblings of an infamous wit and wargames guru. One of nature's true gentlemen who devotes his time to the care of his two sons, i.e. watching episodes of Peppa Pig together, and recreating great moments of military history using toy soldiers. Currently a leading light in The Collectivo Despertaferres wargames and duelling association who meet regularly at Firestorm Games ( formerly Ali Baba's Carpet Warehouse). Find me also on Facebook "Despertaferres"!

Leave a Reply

